We owned a house in Kentucky that had a small drainage ditch at the back of the yard so I built a decorative bridge over it to also act as a second patio/deck. One day we had a big rain come through and the ditch filled up to overflowing, and the bridge started to float away. I was the only one home so I grabbed some metal fencing posts and rope, and my plan was to tie it down before it floated away and tore down the fence. As I got more involved, I realized if I didn’t move the bridge back to its original location before the water receded, I would probably have to disassemble the whole thing to get it back because it was too heavy to move, even with 6 people or so helping.

  Jesus describes the Holy Spirit in John 7:38-39 (KJV) as a river. “He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)”

 God showed me while moving the bridge back that in our own strength, there is no way we can accomplish what He has purposed for us. But with the help of the Holy Spirit lifting us up (the same way the water lifted up the bridge), He will empower us, give us wisdom, direction, and guidance; and we can accomplish all that He sets before to do. Praise God! Let us allow this living water that Jesus gives us to take over, move some bridges out of our way, and run with patience the race that is set before us. Heb. 12:1-2.

I anchored the bridge into the ground after this by the way. Two lessons learned from this.

Elder Steve Smith

